Struggling to remain Sane

No body knows what it’s like at my end;
They see only what they want, to pretend
That all is peachy; and everything is fine.
They just don’t get this depression of mine.

They term me a waste of space –
Unable to fit in or find my place.
Behind my vacant eyes I hide my dreams
Just as the darkness of night covers my screams.

My thoughts flitter-flutter with nowhere to go.
I can’t understand my unease; why am I feeling so
Lost and lonely when surrounded by all?
Who will get me? Whom can I call?

I have spent years with nothing to show.
A bland life at best, the lowest of low.
I’m scared that one day I’ll wake up to find
That this is reality. It’s not just in my mind.

10 thoughts on “Struggling to remain Sane

  1. Funnily enough, your title depicts the thoughts I had almost throughout yesterday. Like I always say, “you’re your own person”, only you can understand yourself completely but sometimes even that proves really difficult.
    Great piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like Chris, I don’t know what depression feels like. I did a long, long time ago and tried to commit suicide. There was no “light at the end of the tunnel” at that time. So I invented a light, my own kind of “reason for being” which doesn’t have to explain why I’m here, or why things are the way they are, but gives me a purpose. I live for that purpose and if I feel overwhelmed with bad news, losses, or global chaos, I can always lose myself in my own purpose, dependent upon no one but me. That’s how I do it, anyway. I’m following your blog now, see what else you have to share. Take care o’ you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

