Hamster’s Wheel

Once upon a time, there was nothing routine about life. Thankfully, every minute was something new. There was always something new to discover…But now, life has gained new heights of monotony. From the moment I wake up to the time I finally sink back in the bed, I know exactly what I am supposed to be doing. Every second is accounted for. Sometimes, I want to scream just for the heck of it. If only to do something unpredictable.

But then, the moment passes and I put my head down and get back on the wheel. Run, Run, Run!

The day paused, just like every other day.
Rewind: Thinking of everything I couldn’t say.
Hushed up words struggle for their right to live.
I shush them again. Their freedom isn’t mine to give.
Someone push the play button please,
Before my numbness freezes me!

Leave a Reply

