Great Expectations

You put me in a glass case –

A prisoner of your expectations,

And watch closely

To make sure there are no deviations

From your twisted sense of perfection.

You stick the label of your choice

And guilt me into believing

I’d be missing out on all the joys

If I didn’t accept the Godhead you bestowed.

I seethe silently from high up on the pedestal

As I watch you splurge your indulgence

While you doom me to a life

Planning for a chance at vengeance.

Well, I am tired of the chains of your love.

I break free and let go.

I hope someones watching from above

To ensure justice is served.

5 thoughts on “Great Expectations

Leave a Reply

