Writer’s Block

I don’t like the way you look at me –

Silently judging my inability

To fill you up with strokes of black.

It’s not as if you haven’t seen me try

To struggle with the images that chose to hide

Under dusty layers of foggy memories instead.

Like alluring butterflies that tempt one

Yet evade grasping hands skilfully,

My thoughts seem to mock me.

The unblemished surface of your face

Bears testimony to my failure for all to see.

But no one will ever know that I tried. I really did.

 

5 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

  1. I don’t experience writers’ block, perhaps because there are so many topics to write on I couldn’t imagine not having something to write about… or at least comment on. I use three styles of writing expression: poem (last choice), essay (most common) and short story (my favourite style). So there’s always something on the shelf waiting to be written. From my experiences in writer’s groups I found that people who struggled with their writing were actually trying too hard; they weren’t letting it flow, and trying for a finished product on first draft. Writing should be either playful or driven by an intense inner fire. Any writing that shows up needed to be forced I would immediately abandon as a hopeless case. A child must want to be born.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

