Sunshine Blogger Award

Wow! Am I jumping with joy or what?! Thanks Shayma for this wonderful nomination. It feels so amazing that I am not only gaining new perspectives, but also new friends. It might sound corny, but I think I’m really liking the whole world of “WordPress” after connecting with people like you. People, if you’re reading this, you should most definitely check out what this lady has to say. She has a voice that she is not afraid to use. I like it!

The Rules:

  1. Thank the person that nominated you. (Ok, done that!)
  2. Answer the questions from your nominator. (That’s a tough one!)
  3. Nominate fellow bloggers you follow. (Oh man! there are some who are so amazing that they need to be nominated twice!)
  4. Give them 10 questions to answer. (Karma and all that 😉 )

Now, hopping on to the hot seat, here goes nothing!

What’s your favorite quote and why?

Well, this one’s easy. I believe in “Live and let live” because there is nothing more challenging or rewarding than the ability to live one’s life they way you want to, without interference or judgments.

Do you read book? What kind of books and why?

I absolutely understand all those people who say that books are their best friends. They give you the best gossip to pass time! Apart from that, I love that they offer a chance of escape from the mundane existence. I love the flights of fantasy so it shouldn’t come as a surprise when I confess that I love fantasy novels. Then again, a little bit of love now and then doesn’t hurt either!

Who’s your favourite author?

Now this one is a really tough question to answer. Over the years I have read tonnes of books and till now I can’t make up my mind on who writes the best (for me). So playing it safe here and saying that I love the Guy who wrote the story of my life. I think He is the best one so far.

Books or Movies, which is your preference? Why?

This is like having to choose between chocolate ice-cream and bars of chocolate. Both are my favourites and yet, I’m moody about them as well. Some things I need to be able to visualize, then I go for movies. But there are some where I would rather let my imagination run wild – books it is!

What was the toughest decision you’ve ever had to make?

There came a time when my life was undergoing this massive change where everything that I had taken for granted was now just not there on the horizon. In such a situation, I had the option to stick around (even if it meant changing myself 180º) or bailing out…I’m still here, fighting my way out of the jungle while still trying to be me…that’s the toughest one till date.

What does your blog mean to you?

Freedom of speech. Some times I can’t say all the things that I want to because it’s not appropriate or someone might get offended or even what will people say. I like this little space that I have made for myself where I can be who I am and if you don’t like it, well you know what to do!

Who’s your favourite person and why?

This question I’m going to have to tweak a little bit because I have favourite persons (in plural). Three to be precise – my mom, husband and my son. It’s not just because they are MINE, it’s because they teach me new things every day! My mom is the sweetest person I know who doesn’t think twice before giving you whatever you want, even at the cost of herself. My husband has held my hand through all the dark times and is still burning bright. My son is a bundle of joy who gives me a hundred new reasons to smile every day.

Is there anything like “best friends”? What is your own idea of one?

That tag goes right up there with the term “soul mate” – two things that I feel cannot be categorized. But if I were to label someone “best friend” it would be someone who gets me without my having to put myself out there. I am not an open book and neither would I want to be one. My best friend would be one who is willing to take the time to find out the whole story without giving up!

Do you think that sometimes sacrifices aren’t really sacrifices? Why?

I think that it all depends on what place in the future you’re looking back from. Everything that happens is for the best. So I am quoting something that is very popular with our Govt – Today’s pain is tomorrow’s gain. Anything that you sacrifice today, goes to improve your future somewhere or the other.

Describe my blog.

I really like how you look at something as a whole – not just black or white. Everything has a silver lining and you like bringing that little bit of sunshine in people’s lives – it’s very much appreciated.

Every day I log on to this wonderful platform and look forward to the stuff that these guys have to say. It makes me think, laugh, cry or just scratch my head…but they are a part of my daily routine…something that I wouldn’t want to miss out on. I have still not “explored” a quarter of this realm, but the citizens who have impressed me the most are as below:

I am still new to this so maybe with time there will be a lot longer list of names…but right now, if I were you, I’d be checking out what these awesome people have to say!

Now, what goes around comes around right? So here’s a list of questions that I would love to get your answers to.

  1. Does your writing define “you” or is it a completely “different you” that you write about?
  2. When you’re stuck for words (God forbid!), what gets them flowing again?
  3. What got you started blogging/writing in the first place?
  4. Do you write to vent your frustration or to tell a story? Or do you just feel compelled?
  5. Who’s the one author or which is that one book that you constantly find yourself picking up?
  6. Do you wish you could re-write a chapter in your life? If yes, which one?
  7. What is the funniest incident that you remember?
  8. If your writing could bring about a change, what would you write about?
  9.  Is there any particular blogger whose work you like the most? Which one?
  10. Any tips for me and my writing?

Ok, so I have like a zillion other questions that I would love to ask but I’m letting you guys off easy this time! 🙂

 

25 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Congratulations on receiving this award, and thank you so much for nominating me. I feel honoured to be one of your five choices.
    This is awkward; my blog is supposed to be award-free – I keep meaning to put the ‘Award Free Blog’ widget in. I don’t usually accept awards as I find it hard to get around to doing that kind of post. Also, most of my friends have award-free blogs.
    I’ll do my best to fulfil the obligations in order to accept the award as soon as my life calms down.
    Answering those great questions willl be the best bit. You must have put a lot of thought into them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No! Getting an award is a lovely comliment. I know lots of bloggers who have been pased by. It’s not something that happens to everyone, but bloggers who write about positive happy sunshine stuff tend to get a lot. In my experience, poets get fewer.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. These are my replies to your blog award questions:

    #1-I’d say my writing can be taken at face value. It defines “me” at the moment I am writing, or at the moment I choose a piece to post publicly. It means, “This is what I think; this is what I agree with; this is how I define my life at this moment.”

    #2 – I can’t even imagine being stuck for words unless I was dead.

    #3 – I’ve been writing since forever. Won my first (and only) award when I was 12. I realized then I didn’t want to be an author, that being a writer was what I was after, making mere words actually express my feelings, or describe my experiences.

    #4 – Mostly I feel compelled to write, even when I write strictly to entertain. Something makes me do it.

    #5 – The most fascinating writer I know is Frank Herbert, author of the Dune book series (and many other stories also. The Dune books hold much amazing and truthful (to me) philosophy in science fiction format. Science fiction is my preferred genre of reading.

    #6 – A difficult question to answer honestly. Based on what I know now, I’d rewrite my entire life without hesitation is the best answer I can give.

    #7 – I actually cannot remember any truly funny incidents in my life. Pretty serious path I walked.

    #8 – If my writing could bring about “a” change, it would have to be a global change. Therefore I would explain the concept and effect of becoming compassionate to the best of my ability.

    #9 – I think it would be unfair and arbitrary to choose a blogger from the list I follow as “best” since each and every one has something to offer and teach me that the others could not. I read all the posts even if at times I’m at this computer until 1:00 or 2:00 in the morning, and at it again around 7:30 in the morning before work calls.

    #10 – Tips for you as a person? No, but to your writing: your writing is prolific and amazing in scope and depth. Only thing I’d say if we were in a blogging class is, you could slow down, post less and have more lasting effect. It’s so tempting for those of us who have words we can literally swim in, to post… and post… and post, but I try to keep in mind that blogging is give and take. I spend way more time responding with serious comments than posting “my” stuff. Giving a heatfelt comment on somebody’s work is worth more to me than posting a well received post on my own blog. For me blogging is like an active conversation in a meeting, a way to discover how others feel about issues, or the kind of lives they have and what they have to give and teach.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amazing answers. Thank you for taking out the time 🙂 I love sci-fi as well and will definitely check out the Dune series. As for compelled to write – I have this uncanny feeling sometimes that I am just the pen, not the words you know?! I guess with time I shall mature enough to restraint the urge to share every thought in my head. Right now though I try to maintain 2-3 posts per day, I end up losing the battle. I have been checking out other people’s work and I am astounded by how much beauty there is. Also the same themes have been expressed in so many ways and all are different! Your answers as well as your advice is appreciated. Every day is a new learning! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

