Fitting the Label

I spent many years wondering

What it was that I did wrong

And how many chances would it take

For me to right it back.

Could I laugh a little less

Or would that only cause more stress?

Should I sit by idly like a statue

Or help out even more?

Would it help were I to vanish

Or does she miss me when I’m gone?

Someone up there must have heard

My endless prayers for redemption.

For one day I made a breakthrough

That left me with more to ponder.

It didn’t matter what I did

Though what I didn’t would surely be magnified.

The only person I need to satisfy

Is the one looking back in the mirror.

Prompt: 
Breakthrough

2 thoughts on “Fitting the Label

Leave a Reply

