Of dreams and prophecies

In my fourth Whiteout Wednesday challenge, I want to talk about the dreams and their meanings. There are many who have experienced dreams that have foretold their future. It is to them that I want to ask – are we ever going to live in peace again? There is so much of grief, violence and hatred revolving in everyone’s aura. How are they supposed to rise up from there? Is there someone up there listening or are we just sending prayers in vain? If He is, will he lie to soothe our pain or will he stutter and stammer at the mistake He made in making us?

The tidied up version:

Whatever I bring,

You pass by

In your grief.

Listen, whisper, hear!

And weep because

Cannot kiss your beloved.

Watch my words on her lips.

How they wear her body

Like a pyramid

Against the disappearing wall.

The city is washed

In fire. Smoky.

Filigree cages

Hold the burning man.

Perish. Drown. Melt.

Is the King listening?

Or stuttering beside your bed?

When you awaken of this dream

(O) Sad-eyed man

You will have something to say

To Him.

The white-out version:

You All in White by Leonard Cohen
©Leonard Cohen

Whatever cities are brought down,
I will always bring you poems,
and the fruit of orchards
I pass by.

Strangers in your bed,
excluded by our grief,
listening to sleep-whispering,
will hear their passion beautifully explained,
and weep because they cannot kiss
your distant face.

Lovers of my beloved,
watch how my words put on her lips like clothes,
how they wear her body like a rare shawl.
Fruit is pyramided on the window-sill,
songs flutter against the disappearing wall.

The sky of the city
is washed in the fire
of Lebanese cedar and gold.
In smoky filigree cages
the apes and peacocks fret.
Now the cages do not hold,
in the burning street man and animal
perish in each other’s arms,
peacocks drown around the melting throne.

Is it the king
who lies beside you listening?
Is it Solomon or David
or stuttering Charlemagne?
Is that his crown
in the suitcase beside your bed?

When we meet again,
you all in white,
I smelling of orchards,
when we meet

But now you awaken,
and you are tired of this dream.
Turn toward the sad-eyed man.
He stayed by you all the night.
You will have something
to say to him.

9 thoughts on “Of dreams and prophecies

  1. Holy Smokes! WOWOWOWOW!!!

    This is absolutely stunning – amazing – and incredible!

    Great content, like Cohen, makes for a powerful start, and the way you’ve edited and placed the content in new fashion and form is brilliant!

    Really – stunning – and this reads like a prayer or petition, almost like a psalm to the “almighty” in wonder and questioning ….

    This is great – I’m sitting here in stunned wonder!

    Fantastic and once again, I’m really glad that you’re playing along and having some definitely very inspired interpretations of these prompts – just wonderful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey thanks. Yes, it was a really powerful bit of writing and anything less than that would not have done justice. Had been reading about violence and hatred issues when I started doing the prompt. So the idea kinda flowed from there. I’m really glad to try my hand with these prompts as well. You’ve done a fantastic job selecting these pieces.

      Liked by 1 person

      • thank you 🙂

        and I have to add – for some odd reason, the WP gremlins did a number on my WOW prompt #7 – erased it or something that I can’t understand, so I had to find a revision of it and re-posted it – so now, you’re pingback has disappeared …. sorry about that – but if you want to re-ping for #7, that’s fine, if not, that’s cool too – as you wish. (I just had to let you know because it’s been hours since it happened and I still haven’t been able to figure out what happened.)

        Once again, great responses 🙂

        Like

  2. when you write about the things that matter an amazing piece like this comes out. you have such depth of soul and words that make me see the amazing person you are. I really enjoyed this one! And…..Happy Birthday to you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

