Problem Child x 2

So after yesterday’s attempt, I was really looking forward to trying my hand at Wipeout Wednesday 2 It’s a really fun challenge and I hope that I can do justice to this one as well.

Every person who has experienced parenthood realizes one thing pretty quickly – you can’t get your child to eat everything that is healthy. In fact, you can’t get them to eat anything that they don’t want to. This does get the creative juices flowing in many parents who try their level best to come up with Michelin-standard food that might appease their toddler’s taste buds while also packing a healthy punch. Here’s the story of a mother of twin boys who are very fussy about what they eat. But through her persistence she has managed to reach an equilibrium and now finds their new status quo satisfying.

The tidied up version:

Bromley and Jobey are selective eaters, Cindy says. They don’t eat plants with fuzzy leaves, they won’t touch the hydrangeas, and they don’t like most herbs. When she introduces a new plant “They may take me by surprise and eat it,” she says. Cindy knows what she is doing.  She says her persistence has developed a satisfying relationship. “You become a part of it” she says “and it is valuable.”

The Wipedout version:

Cultivating Tranquility  (an excerpt)
written by Marty Ross for Country Gardens Magazine (hardcopy Early Spring 2017)

Sheep might seem like a threat to the dedicated gardener, but Bromley and Jobey actually help out on the farm, Cindy says. They take care of all the mowing and trimming, and their straw bedding and manure enrich the soil in the flower beds. They walk among the flowers, nibbling on weeds, without stepping on the garden plants. Sheep are selective eaters, Cindy says. They don’t eat plants with fuzzy leaves, they won’t touch the hydrangeas, and they don’t like most herbs. When she introduces a new plant in the garden she takes it over to the sheep. “They may take me by surprise and eat it,” she says, but if they don’t show any interest, she plants it in the garden.

Cindy describes the property as “a wild garden in a sense – a collaboration with nature – with a lot of faith that Mother Nature knows what she is doing.” She tolerates many plants such as purslane and dandelions that other people might think of as weeds. Cindy doesn’t view them that way. “I see their amazing medicine,” she says, “their persistence.” Over 20 years of living and working at Saturday Farm, Cindy has developed a deeply satisfying relationship with the garden. “You become a part of it,” she says, “and it is nurturing.”

Saturday Farm has taught Cindy valuable lessons about nature, the passage of time, and local lore. Beauty isn’t something you have to leave home to discover, she says. There it is, right outside your door, and maybe even in the cracks of the sidewalks.

6 thoughts on “Problem Child x 2

  1. Well now there is some place I would not have thought of going!
    But when my own were little I got them to eat broccoli by telling them that they were dinosaurs and to eat the ‘trees’. 😉

    Now I’ve got a fussy eater in Son of Son (grandson) – I just make sure he eats some good food before having a snack attack. I really like where you went.

    And yes we do bring ourselves into our writing. I had not previously cared for ‘Found Poetry/black out/white outs. But I like the way Wordwitch presents the challenge and it has become, fun. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehe…One of my nephews is a super fussy eater and I have seen his mom literally pull her hair out in between running to the kitchen to make something new. I was pretty firm with my son from the start…and thank God he was pretty firm with me as well. As a result I cook more often and he eats whatever I serve up without a fuss! Win-win?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Taste buds change. A much repeated line in my house. You always have to try something new. You don’t have to like it. 🙂

        I would not run back and forth just to feed a child. They’ll eat when they are hungry. And in some cases take vitamin supplementation. I was fussy too. But I have learned to like foods I thought I didn’t – mostly because of the way they had been cooked. Some things I still won’t eat. But that’s OK too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. LOL – I’m laughing because I know the background – which is referring to sheep, so this adds a fun twist to “twin boys” ….. and great job! And what makes this a kind of “huh” moment is when you decided to leave in the part about hydrangeas … that’s when the mind starts to reconsider. LOL.

    It’s cool how the power of editing and choosing words can really alter meanings and ideas, allowing us to graze in a new directions 😉

    thanks for playing along and I’m glad you’re having fun with these 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

