Tribute

You know how right when you’re falling asleep, really really late at night, and suddenly your head is filled with this idea that sorta writes itself out, you can literally see yourself typing the whole thing and how it fills up the word counts so well and everything looks too perfect to edit…and then you think hey, it was my brain that thought of this entire thing so I am sure it will retain the conversation when I wake up tomorrow and THEN I can go about creating my masterpiece…Knock, Knock! Who’s there? Absolutely no idea! Yeah, I know that was like a really bad joke after a really really long sentence. But then, that’s how I am feeling right now.

Yesterday was a super long day and I was looking forward to crashing on my bed and just dozing off into dreamless slumber. It seemed almost like a sinful pleasure, the way I kept thinking about my sleep. So finally the clock struck sleep-o’-clock and I sank my head in the pillow, cuddled up with my warm baby and felt myself sinking smoothly into oblivion…Boom! I had an idea. A piece that was so beautiful it could make you cry if you read it…(Since there’s no chance of you ever reading it now, you just have to take my word for it). In my mind, I visualized sitting in my favorite writing spot, putting my thinking cap on and cracking my knuckles for the long and fast ride ahead. My fingers flew across the keyboard as I verbalized ideas and concepts that had hitherto been a mystery to mankind. If there was an equivalent for an Oscar for bloggers (is there?) I would have definitely scored that with this one fantastic peak into human psychology. Believe me, it was that good.

But while my mind worked overtime trying to type out the words on the blank slate of my ego, my heart was convinced that what I really needed was a little deep sleep. Wispy dreamy arms patted my head and cooed sweet lullaby as my eyes struggled in their losing battle of staying open. I had touched perfection; it was almost within my grasp…and I let it go. In the morning, needless to say, there were no words that remained except how sorry I was that I had succumbed to temptation.

I think there is nothing else that I can say except this:

This is not The Greatest Song in the World, no.
This is just a tribute.
Couldn’t remember The Greatest Song in the World, no, no.
This is a tribute, oh, to The Greatest Song in the World,
All right! It was The Greatest Song in the World,
All right! It was the best muthafuckin’ song the greatest song in the world.
And the peculiar thing is this my friends:
The song we sang on that fateful night it didn’t actually sound
Anything like this song.
This is just a tribute! You gotta believe it!
And I wish you were there! Just a matter of opinion.
3 thoughts on “Tribute

Leave a Reply

